Limited Home Practice Time - Advice Needed

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by m0pdq, May 9, 2008.

1. m0pdq

m0pdq New Member

hi all

did a search for this and found nothing. if it is a double post.... sorry.

due to my work and other commitments, my home practice is limited to about 1/2 hour per week :frown:.

as such i'd like to make the best use of this time as possible.

what sort of thing should i be practicing ? (i am after improving my technical ability mainly).

also, as i am a lorry driver, i take a spare mouthpiece with me in the cab to use during my breaks (i would say driving, but i doubt that would be legal !).
    other than just blowing through the mouthpiece, are there any exercises that would help me here ?

thanks for your help folks.

2. Al

Al Member

As youngsters we were told to practice at least an hour a day when we came home from school. Our teacher was a former member of the Parachute Regiment.

He told the class that if by chance the folk in the other flats had any complaint, then tell them to come and have a word with him.

There would be no problem....

He assured us that it was a thousand to one that the complaining ignorant neighbour would be Airborne (A 'Para' in other words).

Providing that you do not 'take the ****' I think you should just blow away.
  3. steve butler

steve butler Active Member

I'm afraid no amount of advice is going to help you improve on half an hours practice a week, if you want to improve you are going to have to find more time to practice.
    Your'e a cornet player (think what problems bass players have!), you must have loads of time in that lorry cab, if you are embarrassed then use a mute.

Sorry Chris but in my experience there are no shortcuts, if you want to improve practice practice practice.
  4. hicks

hicks Member