Legalities of Novel writing

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Hells Bones, Feb 25, 2008.

1. Hells Bones

Hells Bones Active Member

Hey guys,

Been wondering this for a while, I did a collaberation effort on a book a couple of years ago and we decided to base the story in a fictional town because we didn't know the legal rights.

Are you allowed to use existing shops, streets, businesses, that kind of thing?

Last edited: Feb 25, 2008
  2. Anno Draconis

Anno Draconis Well-Known Member

I'm not a lawyer, so don't take this as gospel, but:

AFAIK there is no law against using actual towns, businesses and people. However if the people/businesses you identify take offence at your protrayal of them and decide to sue you for defamation or something similar, you might be in hot water - it would be a civil matter for the parties who feel wronged, rather than a criminal matter.
  3. Hells Bones

So to get around this I could write to them, tell them what capacity the businesses/premises are being written in and ask for written permission?
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2008
  4. Will the Sec

Will the Sec Active Member

Having written a full length novel and several fan-fics, (and had to alter stuff on legal advice) the advice I would give would be to use real towns and streets, but steer clear of using actual people or shop names.
  5. Anno Draconis

Anno Draconis Well-Known Member

I suppose so :confused: , although if it was my business I'd want to see finished copy before I gave any sort of permission in writing. No harm in asking, though.
  6. Hells Bones

Thanks for this, the reason I ask is because I am thinking of writing one now and the town I want to base it in has a street full of nightclubs that I was going to have a scene take place in. Walkabout, Weatherspoons, places like that.