Ladies Choir

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by satchmo shaz, Apr 22, 2005.

1. satchmo shaz

satchmo shaz Active Member

Hi everyone, I have recently taken on a ladies choir who have been struggling recently. I need some ideas to kick start them. They sing in 4 part harmony and do some barbershop stuff. They could do with some new music but I'm not sure where to start. I have ordered a book off the internet about teaching choirs but it hasnt arrived yet. I'm a bit of a novice at this as I havent conducted a choir before.

Any input would be apprciated

thanks Shaz

2. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

3. satchmo shaz

Blimey ! thanks for that:D

4. Cornishwomble

Cornishwomble Active Member

Get Whoopi Goldberg to join, she did alright for that bunch of nuns!

5. satchmo shaz

shes busy on a Thursday.... shame, still would like 4 part arr of I will follow him"........... any ideas?

Also I got hold of a second hand book on choirs by Imogene Holst.............. very good

6. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

I should have mentioned that if you googled 'voice training', a lot of useful information can be acquired to get the basics of voice production and projection. I have found that this is useful for brass players too (... to a certain degree). :)

7. satchmo shaz

Cool, thanks I will try that too ;)

8. satchmo shaz

Well I have my first concert tonight with my new choir................ I need my head examining!!

Was out Sat night with dance band, out last night with brass band and tonight with choir!!!
    Night off tomorrow though

9. Binky

Binky New Member