Lacquer or silver plate?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Mephistopheles, May 28, 2009.

1. Mephistopheles

Mephistopheles New Member

Hi all, I'm buying a tenor horn, something I'm very new to after playing perc for some years. But wondered what's best, lacquered or silver plated? I'm aware that silver is more hardwearing but is there any difference in sound?

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    all
    silver
    something
    perc
    Lacquer
  3. Eddy1234567

Eddy1234567 Member

silver makes a brighter sound clearer sound wheras laquer makes a darker sound.
    i had the same descision to make when buying my new prestige euph.
    i also think silver instruments looks nicer when looked after.

4. sop 1

sop 1 Member

BSP every time! Gold sopranos look S*** anyway!

5. Andrew Norman

Andrew Norman Member

Personally I don't find much difference in tone quality between finishes - I believe that a player produces their own sound, pretty much, regardless of the instrument. MOuthpiece makes more difference.
    Silver plate is harder wearing and will look better for longer so it's usually worth the extra.

6. I played my Besson as a laquered horn for the first twenty years, then had the same horn silver plated. I don't know that there was a real change in the sound, but I found that there was a much better response. I can only describe it as more alive. Intonation was not affected.

7. gaj

gaj New Member

I have had my Rath bass trom which was laq., now totally silver plated, it now has a slightly brighter sound but I also have a laq bell which gives a darker sound.Best of both worlds!!:p

If you choose silver plate dont have a frosted finish always go for bright finish:clap:

reg
    g

8. Despot

Despot Member

And for that reason is easier to sell, should the need arise down the line.

9. rgdunning

rgdunning Member