Invention suitable for musicians?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Where Is My Pencil?, Sep 7, 2015.

1. Where Is My Pencil?

Where Is My Pencil? New Member

Hi, my name's Jim and although I don't play brass instruments, I am a musician - I play drums and guitar. I was speaking to a friend who plays in a brass band here in Cornwall who said she thought my new invention would be ideal for musicians reading sheet music from a metal stand. It was originally designed for using with a pair of glasses, but it can be used on any flat surface - whether it's made of metal or not! I'm not here to fill the forum with spam - I just wanted to ask some people's opinions on whether they think the magnetic pencil holder I made is something that you guys would use?
    As a carpenter who wears glasses, I kept losing my pencil as there was no space behind my ear to keep it handy. I came up with the Pencil Mate to use when doing woodwork and have found that artists, wood machinists, golfers and crossword lovers all like the idea and many have backed my Kickstarter campaign. I'd really appreciate it if some of you could take a look at the website and let me know your thoughts? Surely you guys must get as frustrated at dropping or losing your pencil as I do!? Any feedback or comments would be gratefully appreciated.
  2. James Yelland

James Yelland Active Member

A magnetic holder which can be used on any surface, "whether it's made of metal or not". So how does that work?

If you have no joy here, I suggest that the Gnome Christmas Mart in Private Eye might be interested in advertising your invention! Good luck!
  3. Ianroberts

Ianroberts Well-Known Member

Wasn't the problem of some where to put your pencils solved when the good lord decided to give us ears ? I think you should concentrate your time on decent, more urgently needed inventions like the age old problem of working the 3rd valve for Baritone players !
  4. Bbmad

Bbmad Active Member