Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by jafe, Nov 13, 2003.

1. jafe

jafe Member

Just wonddering who or what got people into music and banding?

My musical idols are; Buddy Rich, John Bonham, Evelyn Glennie
  2. timbloke

timbloke Member

i always liked glen miller when i was really young, which is why i play tromb. although when i started playing in band my idol was a chap called paul, who played solo tromb in the senior band, he's only a few years older than me, but was basically at a position that i thought to myself... "i want to be doing that".

Later on when i had progressed to the senior band, I played next to him on many occasions, and although he isn't a famous name player, i will always say he was my biggest inspiration when i started banding. :)

I sometimes wonder whether i am an inspiration to others, in the same way he was to me? I guess i probably am, which is quite a powerful thought!! :roll:
  3. weenie

weenie Member

My Hero, Roger Taylor of Queen, unique sound and style, nothing too flash, but let's his drumming do the talking. I can tell if it's him drumming without even knowing. Does anybody else appreciate Mr. Taylor's talents?

Edit: Duplicate post deleted. Dyl
  4. jafe

jafe Member

Roger Taylor living legend one of THE greatest drummers on this planet

Ringo Starr has nothing on Rog
  5. The Cornet King

The Cornet King Active Member

Think my mates got me into banding. Asked me to pop down to a rehearsal and i've been hooked ever since! :D

My idol is Roger webster. The man has everything. Flawless technique, amazing sound, an all round world class cornet player.

Philip McCann weren't too bad in his heyday :D
  6. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member