In the Rotary (tuba) club

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Phil Green, Nov 15, 2010.

1. Phil Green

Phil Green Supporting Member

As a kid, when I started learning brass as a 1st year senior, my first instrument was a Weltklang 3 valve euphonium. Sitting next to a 4th year with a frosted 4v B&H Imperial made me so jealous. However when said 4th year upgraded to a Sovereign I thought I'd die if I didn't get one of those; I can still remember the shine of the new instrument, the smell of the valve oil and the feel of the blue case lining........mmmm......anyway, I digress. When I left school and had to give back the Weltklang my Dad bought me a secondhand Sovereign and despite changing instruments (I now play EEb bass/tuba) and a brief flirtation with Mr Antoine Courtois I've always known that the "Sov" was the instrument to play.

Similarly with tubas, the only 'real' tuba is an upright, 3+1 piston valve with the bell on the right hand side. A bore of 17mm is a minimum as is a 19" bell. Clearly a John Fletcher style lead-pipe is best if possible also. So I've never given any thought what-so-ever to those funny foreign tubas with the bell in the wrong place and strange valves. The only opinion I did have is that as they're 'non-compensating', whatever that means, they must be out of tune.

However - there is an opportunity for me to play the aforementioned ******* child of the real tuba and so after a bit of research on the web I gave Mr Tuba a call. I've seen his adverts from time to time and even visited his website once but was put off straight away by strange instruments with 5, yes 5 valves. We arranged an afternoon when I could visit the shop/showroom for me to have a look and blow of a few instruments.