In the market for Bb/F Tenor Trombone or Bass Trombone

Discussion in 'Classifieds' started by Ronan Doherty, Apr 13, 2016.

1. Ronan Doherty

Ronan Doherty New Member

I'm a Tenor Trombone player by trade but I'm looking for either a Bass Trombone or Bb/F Tenor trombone that will allow me to pick up Pit orchestra / show work. My budget is around £1000. I'm open to a good second hand instrument or could be persuaded otherwise after listening to members' recommendations on the lower end of the 'New' market such as JP / Rath etc... any advice greatly accepted.
  2. 2nd tenor

2nd tenor Active Member

If you have the skill to do such work then you will no doubt have had a few good teachers, have a chat with them as they may well have done such pit work themselves and/or be able to direct you to those that have.

The best site for non brass band Trombone specific questions is the USA based trombone forum, it would be worth asking your question there.

What do you play at the moment and why do you feel it might not be suitable for pit work?

I think that in your position I'd be visiting some rehearsals and talking directly to the musicians doing the shows to see what work there is, what instruments they use, and what music they play - and get information on pay.
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2016
    Ronan Doherty likes this.
  3. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

£1,000 doesn't go all the way when buying a bass trombone. Single trigger you'll be able to get, which is good for most purposes. JP Rath are okay. Wessex are doing some interesting things with designs. £2,000 would get you most things, including some desirable items (e.g. the occasional Rath R9 that someone is keen to sell).

Quality 2nd hand is where the value is - you ought to be able to find a Bb/F instrument of desired size from medium-small tenor to bass for that budget. Single-trigger suggestions:
    .508: King 3B/F
    .525: King 3B+/F, Bach 36B, Conn 79H
    .547: Conn 88H, King 4B/F, Bach 42B