I'm Still About & Wanting....cornet/horn - south wales

Discussion in 'Recruitment Corner' started by cornethorn_e_babe, Mar 13, 2006.

1. Would you like a Cornet player? I need a band... (Wales)

Hi all,
    Not sure what to put really....
    Cornet player: Playing since July 2005 in my bedroom, have played with one band as an 'extra' but enjoyed the experience greatly and would sincerely like to have a regular blow with a band, willing to let me in to do so.
    I'm not fantastic but I can hit the notes, I have a previous musical background and I'm willing to learn more.
    I'm self taught on Cornet so really in need of some friendly people to give me a helping hand.
    Live in the SE Wales, but can travel to Bristol Area, and towards Swansea way as well as up the Valleys.
    Send me an IM if you'd like to know a bit more about me.

Last edited: Mar 13, 2006
  2. nickjones

nickjones Active Member

Most Bands in Wales could do with a player or two...a worrying amout of bands are withdrawing due to player shortages..
    BTM , Newbridge , Ebbw Vale , Cwmbran are all Gwent based bands. further afield there is Ammanford , and Radyr and Morganstown..or if you fancy a trip up North ( 4 hours) , Menai Bridge , Llandudno , and a few other bands could do with a friendly cornet player.

3. I know of BTM but I'm not quite of their standard!
    Do you know who would be a good starter band and how generally do you go about asking to join?

4. nickjones

nickjones Active Member

Most bands would have a training band , an adults learner band or a youth band , try ( www.ibew.co.uk for listings of bands websites ) , I am sure most bands would not turn a player away , would be best trying Newbridge (Celelyn) , BTM , Ebbw Vale , Cwmbran , Severn Tunnel..Good Luck with your search.

5. Deano

Deano Member

Ynyshir are looking for cornet players for after the area, we rehearse Monday's and Friday's. PM me and I'll give you some more details.

6. caramelbunny

caramelbunny Member