I'm new here!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by AdamW, Jun 17, 2009.

1. AdamW

AdamW New Member

I've just joined this forum and wanted to say Hello. I'm 14 and I started playing the trumpet when I was 8. Last September I started playing my Dad's euphonium and got hooked on it. Shame for him really because he'd only bought it a year earlier and was learning to play it as his first brass instrument. But he let me have the euph, and bought himself a trombone to cheer himself up. He just needs to find a band that takes adult beginners so he can learn more.
    My (now!) euphonium is a Besson 3 valve 600 model from about 1985 and I'm due to take my Grade V in a few weeks. After this, I will probably need to buy a 4 valve instrument. I've got my eyes on a Besson Prestige. . . I wonder how Mum and Dad feel about that? :wink:
    I look forward to posting here and reading about what everyone else is doing. At least we all have the same interest!:tup
  2. Jan H

Jan H Moderator Staff Member

Hello Adam, welcome to theMouthPiece and all the best with your euphonium!
  3. Di B

Di B Member

Hi Adam, do you play with a band as yet? Its good to see enthusiasm from a local euph player even if you make me feel a bit old! ;-)

Prestiges are nice and showy but do some searching on here about them before you decide to buy one and make sure you give any instrument you buy a good try out (even loan one for a couple of weeks if poss)

How did you get into playing? Was it by school or a local band?

Keep up the good work :)
  4. Hello Adam from a fellow " Eupher".
  5. jockinafrock

jockinafrock Active Member

Wonderful to have another youngster on board! :hi
  6. MrsDoyle

MrsDoyle Supporting Member

Hello! Welcome to tMP!

7. AdamW

AdamW New Member

I'm new here

Hi Di