I saw Miles Davis in 1983

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Matt Rayner, Jan 6, 2007.

1. Matt Rayner

Matt Rayner New Member

Hi. Noob here. Just popped by for a quick look recommended by a friend..

OK. Here's the beef.

In 1982 I was singing and playing guitar in a band in France. Hmm. Not that interesting, but then the town we were based in played host to a massive music festival every spring. The, err, thusly named Printempes de Bourges.

Well. I was a young lad at the time and at least 2 middle aged women had their desins on my behind. One being the owner of a record shop in town. She, err, thussly invited me to go and see Miles Davis who headlined the whole event.

I'¨ll spare you the rest, and on to the show. After a terribly long wait, the band came on. Let me see.. Mike Stern, Marcus Miller, ah.. a few blokes. They played a full ½ hour before on strolls his majesty in massive platform boots, tight leather pants, jacket with improbable shoulder pads, wrap-around specs and leather pork pie hat.

He lowers his shades, has a scan of the audience and then turns his back for the whole of the show! Ah. But.. Then he played a 3 hour set with the most blistering soloes you can imagine - sometimes playing accompanying lead on the keys with his left hand.

The audience was gobsmacked. There were no breaks between numbers. At trhe end of the set they all walked off and didn't come back for an encore.

The place went nuts for an hour after and I really thought a riot may start. It was mental. Luckily we all went home and lived happily ever after.

So that's it.

Cheers and Man City for the Cup.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    lad
    look
    beef.In 1982
    women
    guitar
  3. brassneck

brassneck Active Member