"Howdy" from Vegas

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by VegasGeorge, Jan 1, 2014.

1. VegasGeorge

VegasGeorge Member

Hi everyone! I'm an old retired guy who started out life as a (French) Horn player, and transitioned to Tenor (Alto) Horn in later days. I've been playing one form of Alto Horn or another for about 30 years now. More, if you count the years I played the Horn and kept an Alto around just for fun. My first Alto was a York I picked up somewhere in the Los Angeles area. I think it was at one of those downtown pawn shops in the 1960s. That's the horn I had fun with during my college years. Incidentally, I recall it sounded great playing duets with a friend who played a Soprano Saxophone. Anyway, I bought my first serious Alto (Tenor) Horn from a Los Angeles distributor for Miraphone who was selling a show demonstrator Miraphone Alto Horn. I played the dickens out of that horn, and I still have it. Then, about eight years ago I bought and restored an old Triumphonic Tenor Horn made by the Salvation Army. I play it regularly, and it is in new looking condition. It's a good instrument, and I enjoy it. About four years ago I scored a great old CG Conn New Wonder Alto Horn (1918) on eBay. I haven't restored it (yet) but the only thing wrong with it is the worn silver finish. It's a kick to play! Just for fun I have an old Holton Hat Box Melophone. It's pretty funny. And recently I've ordered a Yamaha Neo Tenor Horn in silver. I'll be excited to get it sometime in February.