How to confuse a welsh cyclist!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by JessopSmythe, Sep 16, 2007.

1. JessopSmythe

JessopSmythe Active Member

2. bigmamabadger

bigmamabadger Active Member

Possibly one can get a bladder infection from too much cycling?
    And if there is not Welsh word for dismount, how do they get off their horses?:confused:
    BMB
    xx

3. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

- why couldn't they simply produce a sign saying 'no cycling'? :dunno Not PC enough?

4. 2nd man down

2nd man down Moderator Staff Member

And if the No Cycling sign caused any confusion they could translate it properly easily enough couldn't they?

"No Cycling, Is'net?"

5. no2taz

no2taz Member

Haha Look Yew

Very funny story Boyos. I have just forwarded that on to my boss as I am a sales manager for a company that make signage and a welsh speaker.

The sign was probably made by a company in England who has no idea how to translate English to welsh..... (As if you could not tell)

That has brightened up my day

6. Thirteen Ball

Thirteen Ball Active Member

Lol! :)

I reckon it's the cyclists fault. They must have their own language which neither english or welsh converts well to.

After all, Most other road users have worked out red lights mean stop. And they've no comprehension of "One Way" or "No Entry" either. Maybe the writer was trying something different?

Still a corker of a sign though. Almost as good as that one on the road that said "SOTP."

7. WoodenFlugel

WoodenFlugel Moderator Staff Member

We have one in the village that says "CYCLING STRICLY PROHIBITED" and also several road signs that name the village wrongly too (Littlethorpe) one directs you to Littlehorpe and another to Littletorpe. Maybe the sign makers were running short of T's and H's?

8. BigHorn

BigHorn Active Member

Someone is either dyslexic or needs glasses.