How to conduct (for an absolute beginner)

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by MrsDoyle, Jun 20, 2009.

1. MrsDoyle

MrsDoyle Supporting Member

Hello everyone out there in tMP-land...

I'm thinking of learning properly how to conduct (I have only done a teensy bit). Could any MDs or any other trained conductors pass on some tips to me, such as help with how to indicate articulations properly, any books I could buy, any general advice etc.?

I look forward to getting a response on this topic...

Thanks all :tup
  2. QAD

QAD Member

Start off by just conducting the standard 2/4, 3/4, 4/4 beats in front of the mirror.
    Aim for a clear beat - particularly on the second beat in 3/4 and the third beat in 4/4 where many conductors tend to sweep and not indicate it clearly enough.
    Remember that a good beat does't have to involve large gestures. I use the size of the beat to indicate dynamic levels - small beats = low, larger beats = loud. Also you can change from flowing to sharp beats for lyrical and accented passages. One of my conducting teachers used to say imagine that the stick is hitting the inside of a box open in front of you and place the beats by hitting the sides.
    There are lots of texts out there that can help but you could just start off with wikipedia for examples of the standard beat patters
    Hope this helps.
    Of course waving your arms about is only 10 percent of conducting itself.
  3. QAD

QAD Member

By the way I used to know a very good conductor from you neck of the woods, Huw Gareth Williams, if he's still about in Wrexham it wouldn't hurt to get a few lessons.
  4. Blagger

Blagger Member

Go and watch as many different conductors as you can locally - no band should mind i doubt.
    Everyone has different styles - its all about communicating with the players in front of you at the end of the day.
  5. jockinafrock

jockinafrock Active Member