How many of you are engineers?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Jan H, Sep 13, 2004.

?

I am...

1. an engineer or engineering student

16 vote(s)
    53.3%
  2. not an engineer

14 vote(s)
    46.7%
  1. Jan H

Jan H Moderator Staff Member

Recently we had some discussions going on about binary numbers and even about "hysteresis". I know that probably half the tMP'ers were bored to death by these subjects, but it made me wonder: How many of you are engineers or engineering students? And what's your specialization?

About myself, I am a mechanical engineer, specialized in Noise & Vibration. I know that in my band, there are at least two other engineers, our principal cornet and our 1st tenor horn player.

2. BbBill

BbBill Supporting Member

served my time as agricultural engineer in local tractor garage for 5yrs, but have left that now and working down on the farm with my father, still repairing own machinary when he breaks it, tho its good way to keep it cheap! :D

3. WhatSharp?

WhatSharp? Active Member

Not sure if you'd count Software Engineer as engineering, though my early background was an engineering apprenticeship (Mechancial, Electrical and Electronics). Ironically enough I worked for a number of years at a company writing noise and vibration test software for servohydraulic test equipment. Small World!

4. Colin K

Colin K Member

I work as a Control system desisign engineer for the Glass industry.

5. Jan H

Jan H Moderator Staff Member

I don't think it is very strange for (brass) musicians to be specialized in noise and vibration ;)

And at my university, computer science was one of the departments of the Engineering faculty (the other departments were mechanical, electronical, chemical, agricultural, construction, mining and architecture)

6. WhatSharp?

WhatSharp? Active Member

No throwing stones then :D (bad pun I know, but it's monday!)

7. 2nd man down

2nd man down Moderator Staff Member