How Do You Practice When You Can't Practice?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Kenneth D. Friedrich, Apr 28, 2004.

1. I know a college tuba player whose semester was basically shot due to chronic TMJ and then pneumonia. Won't be able to lift a horn until June. Our conversations led me to wondering. What's possible mentally or physically to keep a person's skill level up or beyond when a debilitating illness or injury sets you back? Are there books on this subject out there? If not, I truly see a successful doctoral paper in this. Any takers?

Kenneth D. Friedrich
  2. Nuke

Nuke Active Member

Im no expert so dont quote me on this.
    If you cant use an instrument just do lip buzzing excersises or mouthpiece buzzing. This keeps the muscles going. The instrument note producing stuff should then probablly come back easy enough.
    Other then that if it physically isnt possible to practice an instrument or not recomended you do so then its probablly better not too.
    Playing is like riding a bike, even if you dont do it for a while it should come back easy enough.
  3. DublinBass

DublinBass Supporting Member

While I can't relate to physical problems like TMJ, I have had to go on business trips in which it was totally impractical to bring a horn. I (luke nuke mentioned) would buzz into a mouth piece. However, to help simulate the feel of a horn a bit more you can sometimes buy about a foot (30 cm) of aquarium tubing to attach to your mouthpiece to give a bit more resistance.

Also, and I don't know if they have these in the UK, there are piston like finger exercisers (the resistance is simple springs) that can help keep finger strength up.

I wish the best for you friend and will keep him/her in my prayers,
  4. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

Normally, when I can't practise, I don't practise...
    But I need to have a lot of mental positivity to get me through a day, a concert, contest, whatever.