How did you start playing?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Despot, May 12, 2004.

?

Did you start playing in

1. School?

88.0%
  2. Private lessons?

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Beginners group/youth band attached to an "adult band"?

6.0%
  4. Beginners group/youth band unattached to any other band)

2.0%
  5. Taught by a relative

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Other - please specify

4.0%
  1. Despot

Despot Member

Hi All,

Just out of interest how did you start playing? Did you join the local band or youth band, get private lessons, or maybe in school?

Me, I started playing in the beginners group for the local brass! :D

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    interest
    All
    lessons
    band
    brass
  3. DublinBass

DublinBass Supporting Member

I actually joined our marching band on baritone, just to get into the the (american) football games at our high (secondary) school games for free. :)

4. brasscrest

brasscrest Active Member

Voted for option 3, although option 2 could also apply. My father was a professional musician, so I was "playing" almost as soon as I could blow into a mouthpiece. My first real experience was in the music program at the local SA corps when I was about 7, where we had private lessons alternating with group lessons (on a weekly basis). Didn't play at school until I was 11, and already playing with the senior band at the corps.

5. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

I started with private piano lessons when I was 6...
    Learnt various guitars at home between the ages of 8 and 15...
    Clarinet when I was 12... Saxophone and flute at 15... (self-taught)
    Drums and Percussion (self-taught) at 16 1/2 (then joined a band 4 months later)
    Brass when I was 17 1/2

;-)

6. lynchie

lynchie Active Member

School, when I was young and impressionable... I didn't know what a trombone was, or what it sounded like, but I sure as hell wanted one!

7. PeterBale