History of Brass Band Help

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Griffin, Jan 13, 2005.

1. Griffin

Griffin Active Member

I am currently studying History at Uni, for my course assignment (basically - 6-8000 words paper based on primary sources) I am thinking of writing something along the lines of the Tradition of Brass Bands in Yorkshire date-date....
    I was wondering if anyone can give me some info as to where I could get a reading list of relevent material, or reccomend any publications or such like, as there is bound to be someone out there who has done Band Studies.
    I would be eternally greatful as the University staff don't seem to have a clue :rolleyes:
    Cheers, Michael. :cool:
  2. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

3. Griffin

Griffin Active Member

Cheers Peter, just what im looking for. ;-)
  4. peatair

peatair Member

5. dyl

dyl Active Member

That'll be the same site as Peter suggested above then! ;)
  6. Griffin

Griffin Active Member

One of my lecturers recommended the Trever Herbert book. Problem is its £55, and im a poor student!! :-(
    Donations would be appreciated ;-)
    Its gonna be tough, but it should be fun. (Might even turn into a book ;-))
  7. impycornet

impycornet Member

There's also the British Bandsmn centenary book
    British Bandsman Centenary Book Author : Alf Hailstone ISBN 0905858395 Egon Publishers LTD

That's certainly worth a read - & has been out for a while now so may not be that expensive (or should certainly be in the Uni Library)

Another option is to contact the staff at Salford Uni and visit the archive room ( also Dave Kings Office so prepare to be Bokked :) ) Many historical instruments and posters on the walls.

8. John Brooks

John Brooks Well-Known Member

What about Geoffrey & Violet Brand's book - Brass Bands in the 20th Century. It should be available from a good library.