Hi from Sunny Skeggy

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Steve Lowndes, Feb 18, 2012.

1. Steve Lowndes

Steve Lowndes New Member

Hi my name is Steve from Skegness Lincolnshire. I've been involved with Skegness Silver Band on and off for a number of years in various guises, percussionist, trombone, Bb Bass (briefly) and now Eb Bass (which I love). We're currently preparing for the Midlands Area 4th Section comp having had a disappointing result at the Leceister Regionals. I've been playing Eb Bass since August 2011 and am currently preparing for my first grading this March (Grade 6) - I must be mad.

I have a long history in music and originally trained at Birmingham Conservatoire as a Double Bassist before working professionally for a brief while on electric bass mainly as a live session player (I love turning up and reading the dots!!!). I am currently Director of music at William Lovell School in Stickney, Lincs. As a hobby I write songs about life and stuff and also play acoustic and electric guitar. I even have an album on iTunes!!!!

I'm absolutely loving playing Eb Bass and wish I'd discovered it as a teenager so I'm making the most of it at 44. I hope someday I'll own my own bass and am currently very interested in the Wessex tubas. Hope they make a rotary valve version soon.

Anyone got any tips for keeping your back straight for a 6'2" player. I find putting the bass between my legs comfortable but the lead pipe seems a little low.

Any Skeggy banders out there please add me as a friend

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Bb Bass
    Skegness Lincolnshire
    Steve
    Sunny Skeggy Hi
    Skegness Silver Band
  3. Laserbeam bass

Laserbeam bass Active Member

Welcome Steve.