Hey, newbie here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by beginner, Dec 12, 2016.

1. beginner

beginner New Member

Hi everyone! :)

I'm in the Los Angeles, California area and of course, I'm in my school's marching band. I'm still a freshie, but I joined the forum so I could talk to people who have the same interests as me and also get some advice on my instrument.

I'm actually a kid who specializes in the woodwind area (more specifically, the bari sax). I've been playing the bari sax ever since 7th grade. However, I do plan on marching DCI in the future on horn. So I thought, why not join a forum about brass and start getting advice, and talk to people there?

Since I'll have winter break after finals this week, I'm going to borrow a baritone or tuba so I can start learning now. Can anyone tell me the differences of music and playing between the two? I'd rather stay with a brass instrument that's similar to the bari.

2. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

I'm also a sax player who added brass, albeit some 45 years ago! The main difference you will find concerns pitching: with brass a lot depends on being able to pick out the right notes, rather than relying on a speaker key to change the octave. Having said that, the fingering for brass is quite easy to pick up once you understand the principles.

As for the music, a lot will depend on which instrument you go for. The tuba is in many ways the closest to baritone sax, but it does tend to get stuck on the bass parts and not get the odd bits of melody that turn up in bari sax parts. A baritone (or euphonium) would give more options in terms of melodic writing, although not knowing the marching band scene well I'm not sure how that works. There are many members here from the US who can probably advise you about this.

3. jobriant

jobriant Member

This may or may not be the forum you're looking for.