Here's the long slow movement

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by TIMBONE, Sep 17, 2005.

1. TIMBONE

TIMBONE Active Member

My name is Tim, (if you don't already know), and I began my musical career at the age of two (1953), shaking my bells at a Christmas concert with my Dad's Harmonica Band, The Westonics, at the Odeon in Weston-super-Mare. This is where I grew up, although I was born in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire - on February 14th 1951 (I had to get that one in). Do you want some more? OK. I began piano lessons when I was 7, but my teacher sacked me because I kept filling in extra notes to make the chords complete. I still play by ear.

I started playing the drums when I was 10, because I wanted to be a pop star, but never got further than "The Statix" in Weston, never heard of them? Not a lot of people have, that's why I ended up in the Weston Youth Orchestra on timps. Weston Grammar School for Boys didn't like music, and I didn't like them, so I left when I was 15, (you could then), and joined the Army as a Junior Bandsman, (24104475). This is where I learnt the trombone, acoustic and bass guitar.

I came to Manchester in 1971, to the Royal Manchester College of Music, (which became the Royal Northern College of Music). Besides trombone, I studied compostion with Thomas Pitfield, (so did John Golland). After qualifying in 1974, I spent several years playing trombone and bass guitar professionally, orchestral and jazz/rock music. I also taught every brass instrument except french horn if I could possibly avoid it.

In 1981, I started teaching in secondary education, which I left after 13 years before it killed me!