Help with an essay

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by memnoch2487, Dec 29, 2006.

1. memnoch2487

memnoch2487 New Member

Happy Christmas and New year everyone,
    I’m studying for a master’s degree at Salford University (in musical performance) and as part of one of my 1st assignments I’m trying to gather information on individuals’ playing/performing habits, mainly the bad ones, although the indvidual may find it a good one!

Example 1: a euphonium player who uses more vibrato than he should to hide the tuning problems in a particular register
    Why does he use vibrato to hide the tuning problems does it make him feel better, the problem is still there why not try and correct it.

Example 2: a clarinettist who lets air escape from the side of his mouthpiece (noisily) as he’s playing.
    Why does he let this happen, is it poor technique or down to being nervous.

If you know any players that have any bad habits or are prepared to admit your own, could you please tell me about them (names not required) just the instrument they play and the level they play at, and why you think they have them (nerves, poor techniques etc) and also any ideas you would have on helping them correct the “habit”.
    many thanks for your help and time.
    Sincerely
    Michael

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Happy Christmas
    Salford University
    bad habits
    poor techniques
    instrument
  3. memnoch2487

memnoch2487 New Member

4. TopTrump

TopTrump Member

There's a guy in a band in Cymmer in the Rhondda, S Wales who despite being a millionaire still refuses to pay for expert tuition in turning off his auto-aircon which keeps the band cool in the summer months. If you're unlucky he may even flob on you by accident!:biggrin:

5. midwalesman

midwalesman Member

I just have a few observations which I hope will open some new avenues of thinking for you.

a) Do all players play with an ideal technique?