help from other percussionists

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by almost a musician, Nov 18, 2005.

1. after this weekend playing at the armistce parades ive been thinking, when playing kit should we play traditional grip or match:confused: . if traditional what is the best way to build up the stregnth of the left hand this way, because i found on sunday that after not playing traditional for a while my left hand was sluggish and tired easier.
    any help, tips or suggestions will be appriciated. thanks

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    traditional grip
    weekend
    best way
    tips
    left hand
  3. Rapier

Rapier Supporting Member

I'm NOT a percussionist, but I was a drummer with the Royal Marine Cadets, taught at what was the Royal Marines School of Music, Eastney Barracks. The wrist strengthening and suppleness exercise that we spent ages on every week was, hold two sticks in one hand. Held so that One stick pokes out almost fully from the thumb side and the other pokes out almost fully from the little finger side. You are only holding about 3" of the 'hitting end'. You then rotate your wrist back and forwards as fast as you can, for a couple of minutes (building up weekly). Then change hands and repeat. My Dad, a Royal Marines Bugle Sergeant and Drummer for 25 years made me practise 5 minutes each wrist, every day!! Bless him. ;)Hope that is of use. :D

4. Ive been playing percussion for about 18 Years Now and my suggestion to you is to play what ever you feel comfortable playing. To be honest the general public wont care what grip you use. They will only notice if the playing is sub standard. I have come across a useful tool for strengthening your wrists. If you look at www.powerballs.com all will be revealed, it is fab.

Thanks

Jason Poulston
    B&R

5. Aidan Geary

Aidan Geary Member

I believe this all depends on whether you are solely a kit / snare player, or an all round percussionist.