Help...bass trombone mid life crisis!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Basstiger, Jul 31, 2011.

1. Basstiger

Basstiger Member

Can anyone out there help me with some advice please??
    I've been playing bass trombone for almost 15 years on my Holton TR181 bass trombone. My band has a Yamaha YBL 612 dependant bass which I have used on occasions and found I can get more sound out of. I've recently bought an old Yammy 322 single valve bass which has been a revelation...I can really growl on it and for longer than I've ever been able to on the Holton. It obviously has the limitation of a single valve and for some of the stuff we play I really need the 2 but have become accustomed to the independant valves on my Holton and don't like the dependant valves on the band's Yammy....
    Here's the question...do I keep the Holton, or swap it for a 613R or H? These seem to be like gold dust and I don't have the money to do other than a straight swap really....or does anyone out there have a 613 they want to swap for a Holton bass?

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Holton
    Holton TR181
    YBL 612
    Yamaha
    Yammy 322
  3. Vegasbound

Vegasbound Active Member

Keep the Holton, unless there is something wrong with it an ideal horn for the level you play and beyond as it is a pro model, and you are more than comfortable with it!

4. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

Hmm. The Holton 181 is easy to play, and makes it easy to do that low register shouting thing that brass bands so love. But it's got a bit of a flabby sound to it when you're not shouting, and it's rather unresonant at p. The Yamaha 613 fixes these faults, but is not so easy to manouevre with. It really depends on what is important to you as a player.

5. Basstiger

Basstiger Member