hellooo any1 want to help a lovely girl do her dissertation?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Tash, May 13, 2004.

1. Tash

Tash New Member

Hi everyone! Im a music student at the University of Sheffield, and Im doing a big project on how brass bands have changed since the 1970s. Its going well, but i really need opinions of people who've had a lot of experience of banding from around 20 or 30 years ago. I would really ereally appreciate any contributions. Thanks peeps :D tash x

1. What brass band/s do you play in?
    2. How old are you? (please underline/delete)
    10-19
    20-29
    30-39
    40-49
    50-59
    60-69
    70+
    3. How long have you been involved with the brass band scene?
    Less than 1 year
    1-3 years
    3-5 years
    5-7 years
    7-9 years
    9 years + If so, roughly how many years?

2. Taking when you first encountered the brass band scene as a starting point, please give as full a description as possible of any changes you have experienced up to present day:
    · Instrumentation (for example with regards to the introduction of percussion on the contesting scene, instruments, alteration in section balances, introduction of mutes, loss of ‘high pitch’ instruments and of the saxhorn family)
    · Uniform changes, including your opinion of why these changes occurred.
    · Repertoire (choice of works for concert and contest programmes, works rehearsed, popularity of certain styles with audiences etc.)
    · Concerts (number each year, outdoor/indoor, charity concerts, music festivals etc.)
    · Contesting (entertainment contests, audiences, frequency of participation etc.)
    · Financial situation of the band (fees, expenses, instrument prices, subscription/ sponsorship, whether band has been profitable etc.)
    · Support from the government/ local authorities/ Performing Rights Society etc.
    3. Is your banding year broken up into segments or is there a structure to your banding calendar?