Hello there!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Bill Beazley, Jul 26, 2008.

1. Bill Beazley

Bill Beazley New Member

Hey people! Just signed in here hoping I can learn more about brass instruments since I'm studying to be a composer! Hope I can also help with what I already know :).

[]'s

Bill

2. steve butler

steve butler Active Member

Hi Bill, I play EEb bass (tuba), thats a large brass instrument which as its name suggests, provides the bass line to the ensemble that is called a "brass band"
    When composing pieces involving this instrument please keep to fairly simple keys - Concert Eb, Bb and D for example would be acceptable.

Welcome :D

3. Bill Beazley

Bill Beazley New Member

Thanks a lot!

I liked it how you introduced yourself and your instrument all at once. Can I ask a couple of questions about it?
    What is the range of the EEb bass?
    Why is it called that? Does it have anything to do with the instrument's pitch?

[]'s

Bill

4. steve butler

Bill, I'm happy to help:D
    The range of the EEb bass is without limits, in the hands of an expert (not I he modestly reveals) it can go from a super-duper Fb right down to a rather disgusting double pedal G#.
    Apparently its called an EEb bass because its in the key of Eb (so I'm told) and is usually played by dodgy characters of a very base nature.
    Some practicioners of this art that contribute to this forum, are indeed VERY base characters!

5. Bill Beazley

Bill Beazley New Member

Hey Steve,

Thanks for the response!

So, the range you mean is this:
    [​IMG]

If that, however, is the range on the hands of an expert, what is the "safe zone" range, in which any average player will be able to play?

I didn't quite get the name yet. If it's in the key of Eb, shouldn't it be called the Eb bass?

Thanks a lot :D

Bill

6. steve butler

Ooh no, at least an octave higher than that!
    The safe zone would be about a semi-tone lower/ higher :D