Hello from the Scottish Borders

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Alan Fernie, Feb 24, 2006.

1. Alan Fernie

Alan Fernie Member

I'm new to this computer malarkey, and although it's baffling now and then, one of the more remakable things on it is this forum. What a splendid idea! It's most enlightening to find my music being discussed from time to time, and I appreciate all the comments made about my stuff,even the negative ones!
    Can I take this opporchancity to say a bit about "Anglian Dances"? - not on how to play it, as I'm in the box a couple of times, and I'm only the composer anyway! - more on what it's all about. As I've said before, no-one was more surprised than me when it was chosen - too easy in my opinion. It was written 7 years ago, for a youth band contest in Norwich, and had only 4 movements. The opening fanfare has been added for the Areas, and the slow movement has been extended (the "Year of the Dragon" bit - it's deliberate!). The whole suite was then tarted up for contest use.
    If you look at the programme notes in the score, you'll see that it's not specifically about East Anglia; I've only been in Norwich twice; once in the dark, and once locked up in a box! I suppose it should have been called "English Dances", but that's been done before!.... That explains the appearance of the"Keel Row" in the finale. I wanted to give the Flugel and Trombone something nippy to play towards the end, and it just seemed to fit the bill. And yes, "God Save the Queen" does rear it's head knowingly at the end of the opening movement. Even the band I grew up with in the Soviet coalfields of Midlothian played this at the conclusion of village fetes and galas. Trust me, I'm no fan of the tune (I believe verse 2 mentions slaughtering us Scots!).