Hello from a non player!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Cureforsanity, Jan 2, 2018.

1. Cureforsanity

Cureforsanity New Member

Good morning one and all!

Yes, I'm a newbie to your site and I doubt if I'll be here for long (No disrespect, I come seeking knowledge)

On behalf of my old man really

He'll be 88 in June and sadly gave up 'blowing' about 5 years ago due to ill health

He started learning to play the cornet & trumpet at the late age of 14 in the Lancashire coal & cotton mill town of Atherton

He joined the RASC at 17 and was immediately drafted into the band where he remained a RASCal until the 1950's

Aftèr service (yeah right dad, we've seen the pics of you & your pals on 'active' service!) He played the dance band circuit & various local brass bands before finally ending with Eaton's Farnworth band which he was gutted about (music, and particularly brass band music has been his life) but he just hasnt got the breath anymore :(

Long story short:

I don't play & nobody else in my half of the family's interested. My sister plays piano & guitar, my nephew is a very talented multi instrumentalist currently on cruise liners but doesn't play brass.

He has approached me last week with a view to me selling his Conn 22b trumpet for him as he's not played it in years and would get real pleasure knowing someone who took it on would enjoy it as much as him.

He's no idea what it's worth, more worried that the case is battered & bruised but in one piece...

The instrument we think is a New York symphony special. It was bought by his elder brother for him in 1947/8 and wasn't new then. Its been replated and in very nice condition indeed.

It's been all over the world and earned it's keep, paying for itself many times over. It comes in its Conn case, has 3 cornet mouthpieces (Denis Wick, Rudy Muck & Lou Davis) plus adapter, stand and old music books

My questions to you dear lot are: