Greetings from the USA

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Eupher6, Jun 4, 2006.

1. Eupher6

Eupher6 Member

Yes, we across the "pond" have a pretty good thing going and we're catching up fast. Put your seat belts on!

I've been playing euphonium since 1968 and made a career of it in the US Army. I've been retired from the Army more than 11 years now but I wasn't able to put either the euph or trombone down.

I got my first taste of Brit-style banding while stationed in Berlin, Germany, in the mid-Eighties. Up till that time I played mostly wind ensembles and brass ensembles of various sizes, as well as some solo work.

After retirement, I got into banding in a much bigger way and while I no longer play for a living, I'm enjoying it far more than I ever have.

My current band is the Brass Band of the Western Reserve. We're located out of Akron, Ohio. Dr. Keith Wilkinson is MD and we're fortunate to have him.

Allen Lawless

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    USA Yes
    have.My
    Keith Wilkinson
    Allen Lawless
    US Army
  3. TheMusicMan

TheMusicMan tMP Founder Staff Member

Hi Allen, welcome to tMP :hi

It's great to see more and more of our friends across the pond signing up with us. We have a few here already, from the BBC and Florida bands - nice to see we're venturing further west as it were.

Looking forward to reading your posts and contributions, please do regularly keep us up to date with what's happening to bands and brass musicians in your neck of the woods, always delighted to hear what's going on.

Thanks for registering with us and do spread the word.

John

4. DublinBass

DublinBass Supporting Member

Good to have another US Bander on here and from one of my "local" bands (at least by U.S. standards)

5. Jan H

Jan H Moderator Staff Member

Akron is not that much further to the west then Columbus, John ;-)
    We also have some members (or at least one ;-) ) from the Chicago Brass Band...