Grade 8 on a Flugel

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by BigHorn, Oct 19, 2005.

1. BigHorn

BigHorn Active Member

My daughter is doing her grade 8 on a flugel horn but is coming under intense pressure by her teacher to change to a trumpet.

She has started working on Haydn Trumpet Concerto movement 3 and although she can physically get the high notes she does not do it with ease yet. Her teacher (A trumpet player) says it would be so much easier on trumpet and nobody does grade 8 on a flugel.
    My daughter really wants to be as good on flugel as she can be and does not want to change to trumpet mainly because if you play trumpet in the exam you have to do additional tests on transposing.

So what should it be Trumpet or Flugel. Extra practice getting the high notes or swotting up on transposing?
  2. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

An alternative would be to see what other music, if any, is available. Although I'm no expert, I wouldn't have thought that movement of the Haydn is particularly sorted to the flugel, or at least not to one pitched in Bb.
  3. skimbleshanks

skimbleshanks Member

I was rubbish at hight notes when I did my grade 8 (still am for that matter), in the exam I screwed up the two-octave C major scale missing all the notes above the top G and had to do the alternative (lower) finish in Variations on a Welsh Theme. That didn't stop me getting a distinction though :p .

So if she wants to stick to flugal then let her stick to flugal and tell her teacher to stop bossing her around :hammer !

And learning transposition is good whatever the instrument. You never know when you'll find yourself wanting to play in a random group of musicians and there's only parts in C, or indeed help out another musician who plays an instrument in a different tonality.
  4. Cornishwomble

Cornishwomble Active Member

What instrument does she want to play in the future, and why is she taking the grades?