Giving up the demon weed !!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Red Elvis, Nov 25, 2008.

1. Red Elvis

Red Elvis Active Member

Hi All
    Taking the plunge ( again !!) and kicking the habit.Having tried "Cold Turkey" at beginning of year and managing till May this time I've enlisted help of patches etc !
    Any hints and tips to keep me on straight and narrow ?
  2. hicks

hicks Member

How about, if I continue smoking this stuff, it will kill me. Isn't that enough motivation for you?
  3. Red Elvis

Red Elvis Active Member

You don't have to tell me ...I'm a Cardiac / ITU Nurse who should definitely know better !! The coughing of a morning , cost and the effect on my playing are the most powerful motivators as well as knowing how much my GF and family hate it !
  4. StellaJohnson

StellaJohnson Active Member

I gave up smoking, I just stopped. When I was smoking I did so to get away from work for a bit. Find the reasons why you smoke and find a subsitute.

But unfortunately from time to time when I have to much to drink I still do still light up. It isn't easy. Good Luck
  5. Leyfy

Leyfy Active Member

Yes, and a big :clap: for trying to quit again!
  6. Ipswich trom

Ipswich trom Member

Eat sweets, or better still, next time you get the craving take a fiver, roll it up and make as if you're going to light it. Think of all the extra pressies you will be able to buy Kimmi!
  7. derekdawson

derekdawson Member

my brother-in-law took me to a hypnotist, didn't say where we were going untill we got there, I have been stopped 9 yrs. and from the first day after the treatment it has honestly never entered my head, I stopped, my b-in- l didn't, 4 yrs ago he had to have a heart/ lung transplant, hows that for incentive?
  8. andyp

andyp Active Member

A colleague at work is trying these things - electric cigarettes, nicotine but no tobacco - e-mailed me this so I could try persuading a family member to try them...................

A good starter pack is this