Getting back into it?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dave99, Dec 4, 2007.

1. dave99

dave99 New Member

I started playing trombone at junior school some 25 years ago (yes, with a coathanger around the slide so I could reach 6th position :D), all through school and with a couple of the bands at Oldham Music Centre. I left it when I left school 15 years ago and havent really done anything since (apart from a little play around with a local band a few years back but never really got going properly)

As I am about to move up to the Saddleworth area I am getting the feeling I would like to get back into it but not really sure where to start. I was never very good at playing lots of high notes so always tried to get the bass trom parts, but I am not sure what I should be looking for in an instrument - is there something suitable for bass parts as well as maybe the 2nd/3rd trom? Dont really want to spend too much at the moment, might find my lips dont work any more!

2. horn1

horn1 Member

I think Oldham (Lees) Band are looking for a bass trom player for after christmas. They're a successfull 3rd section band, might be worth getting in touch. There's a thread on here somewhere.
  3. patoafc

patoafc New Member

Give Carrbrook a try they need a 2nd trombone player and would provide you with an instrument if you were interested. Have a look at their website at for contact details.
  4. vonny

vonny Member

Hi Dave,

It is great that you have decided to get back into 'banding' again.
    I made a similar decision almost 4 years ago and I have really enjoyed the experience. I think you should get back into it gently and not 'jump in at the deep end' so to speak because when you have been away from banding for a few years you need to ajust...
    There are many bands around who I am sure will be happy to have you join them.
  5. dave99

dave99 New Member

thanks, I'll look into them when I get a bit of time :)
  6. tat

tat Member