GeordieColin

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by geordiecolin, Jul 4, 2005.

1. geordiecolin

geordiecolin Active Member

Hello there,

A little about myself.

I work as a Planning Officer for North Tyneside Council where I determine Householder and Minor Planning Applications, as well as untaking other statutory duties. I embarked upon this career following 4 years of study (3UG, 1PG) at University of Sheffield. I am currently working towards full membership of the Royal Town Planning Institute.

I live in Wylam in Tynedale, approx. 10 miles West of Newcastle upon Tyne.

I began playing at the age of 9 on Cornet and by the age of 10 was playing 3rd Cornet for Ovington Tynedale Band. Under the tutelage of Dave Hignett, I progressed to Repiano Cornet with Ovington Tynedale and onto 1st Trumpet in Northumberland Schools County Wind Orchestra. During this time Ovington qualified for the National Finals (4th Section) in 1996 and secured promotion to the 3rd Section.

With the start of VI Form came a move to Eb Bass, prompted by a call for volunteers from NSCWO. I took up the challenge “for a laugh”. Strangely I discovered that I was much better at bass playing than I was at Cornet playing so stuck with the larger instrument and as a result added membership of the successful Northumberland County Youth Jazz Orchestra to my list of ensembles. I was a member of NYCJO during a time when Gold Awards were gained at the National Concert Band Festival and partook in a successful France tour

A move to Sheffield to attend university meant that I switched bands to Dronfield (CMW), South of Sheffield. I spent 2 enjoyable years with this friendly 3rd Section Derbyshire band before moving onto Barnsley Building Society Band in the Yorkshire 1st Section. Here I not only learnt how to understand a Baaarnsley accent, but was also able to improve my playing.