Fresh Blood for Old Bands

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Jack E, Jan 21, 2018.

1. Jack E

Jack E Well-Known Member

A thread which started out on the thorny question of bringing in deps for contests got a bit side-tracked, and Suzi Q suggested that maybe it should go to a new thread - so here it is.

The point onto which the 'deps' thread shifted was about ensuring that bands had enough players that they didn't need to be scratching round, trying to fill empty seats on a regular basis, whether for contests or concerts.

The band I started learning with a couple of years ago provides free lessons from people like the MD and solo and first players from the main band. It also lends instruments to learners, and has a training band as a stepping stone to the main band. The training band performs in public about four times a year when the main band is giving a concert, and they play three pieces in the main band's interval. They also have a development group, made up of more advanced learners and junior players from the main band, and the more advanced learners from the training band are routinely invited to play with the main band during their rehearsals, so that they become used to playing more difficult pieces alongside advanced players. Lots of very visible stepping stones, which I believe maintains interest and encourages new players to work at progressing. Not having belonged to any band in the past, I assumed that all of this was normal.

Soon after I started, I was encouraged to listen at the back during main band rehearsals, as it was suggested by the sop cornet and first baritone that I could learn a great deal from doing so (which I have!), and I've been doing that ever since.

Last year, at a main band rehearsal, the MD asked for extra volunteers to help with coaching beginners, as there were so many that the existing team of tutors were struggling to cope; again, I didn't think anything of it, assuming that other bands were in the same boat.