Flugel player looking for band in Surrey area ???(post areas)

Discussion in 'Recruitment Corner' started by simonwhte, Mar 13, 2006.

1. simonwhte

simonwhte New Member

Hey there im a music student studying at roehampton and was looking to joini a band locally,i have been playing in salvation army bands from the ageof 7 and started contest banding at 14 and will next week be playing in 1st section regionals with Becontree Brass Band, im wondering about what vacancies for flugel players in the surrey area(or further afield but transport would need to be available)?im ideally looking to get back to playing flugel as ive played cornet in contesting band recently because of a lack of cornets,I have just Began Studying with David Wright(Coldstream Guards) and have started working towards my ABRSM diploma, I passed ABRSM Grade 8 at the age of 17 and have played with national youth orchestras , i look forward to hearing from you

2. Baritonedeaf

Baritonedeaf Member

Roehampton Inst. - ex Southlands College in Wimbledon?

A few good bands near you - no idea baout vacancies though - Fulham band are a great bunch, Crystal Palace are a good band too.

Where are you living? You don't want to be saddling youself with an epic journey in cost or time really...

I remember having to catch 3 Buses and a 35 minute walk to get to Crystal Palace Rehearsals... On the way back if i was delayed on my stroll i would have to wait for a nightbus to arrive!!! Ah student days!

3. Redhorn

Redhorn New Member

Simon, i've emailed you with some suggestions!

DH

4. Owen S

Owen S Member

Hi Simon, we don't have a flugel vacancy at the moment, but depending on exactly where you're living, we're probably the most convenient band for you to get to. You'd be more than welcome to come down for a blow any time after the areas.