Fendall Hill - another soprano player

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Fendall, Jan 11, 2006.

1. Fendall

Fendall Member

Hello all,

I am a married 40-year old father of three from Auckland New Zealand. I am the soprano player for Waitakere Brass (recently rejoined), and current NZ soprano champion.

I am a Chartered Professional Engineer / Management Consultant for a large Australasian company called GHD Limited.

I was brought up in the Waitakere band (then called New Lynn) in the 1970s and 80s when my father, Reverend Tom Hill, brought them from the C grade to become one of NZs top A grade bands. My father was a pre-eminent Salvationist trombone player and conductor prior to this, and went on to win four national titles in the course of a decade. He is probably best known for a rendition of a solo called 'Maoriland' in the 1950s when shock, horror :eek: , he dared to triple tongue at high speed on a trombone. He made a point of trying to do everything on a trombone that could be done on a cornet - without the aid of a trigger (even still)

I was in NZ National Youth Bands (on flugel and solo cornet), and moved to soprano in 1984, coming 3rd in the national solo that year. I 'retired' from banding in 1989, and apart from a dalliance in 1992 and 1996, didn't reappear on the scene until 2004, coming 2nd in the solo that year, and winning the next. I concentrated on church music during those years, developing the ability to play along to anything by ear (a valuable tool)

Coming back into banding, I found the multi-tasking involved to be very tricky, and the level of fitness required a challenge, but after a series of concerts playing soprano with Dalewool, North Shore and Waitakere, I regained the confidence necessary to play full time again, so have rejoined Waitakere. My next challenge is getting used to Simon Kerwin conducting on the 'upbeat' :confused: !!!