Famous Australians?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by meandmycornet, Jun 23, 2007.

1. meandmycornet

meandmycornet Active Member

Hello!

As most of you know I'm a trainee primary teacher! I'm on teaching practice at the moment (LAST WEEK THIS WEEK! :D:D:D) with a class of (mostly) lovely year 5's!

I'm teaching literacy on Wednesday, and I can teach whatever I want so long as links to the classes current topic of Australia.

They've done so many literacy based things already (guide books, posters, poems etc) that I found it difficult to think of something, but eventually came up with the idea of making factfiles (biography stylee) about famous Australians. (This will use lots of skills like skimming and scanning and obviously reading!) which could then be made into a big book for them to keep!

But..... I can't think of enough famous Australians! I only have 18 children in my class, so I only really need 9 (going to have 2 children doing the same famous person, so they can help each other!) the ones I've thought of so far are:

Rolf Harris
    Ian Thorpe (the swimmer with the big feet!)
    Brett Lee (the cricket chap) ... is there a more famous Australian cricket person than him?)
    Kylie Minogue
    Ian Smith (Harold Bishop in neighbours)

so I need a few more! please don't suggest Dame Edna..... I don't want to have explain her 'background!' :tongue:

Many thanks
    Teacher Fi xxx

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Australians
    D
    Rolf HarrisIan Thorpe
    Brett Lee
    Kylie MinogueIan Smith
  3. Jan H

Jan H Moderator Staff Member

uhm...

Mel Gibson
    Cate Blanchett
    Rupert Murdoch
    ...?

or try Google ;)

4. gawber

gawber Active Member

Pat Cash (tennis)
    Evonne Goolagong-Cawley (tennis)
    Cathy Freeman (athelete)
    Shane Warne (more famous than Brett Lee @ cricket?)
    Olivia Newton-John (singer/actress)
    Elle (the body) Macphearson (super model)