Ernie Appleyard

Discussion in 'Obituaries - Unregistered visitors can post here' started by mikelyons, Feb 13, 2007.

1. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

I learned last night of the sad death of Ernie Appleyard. Ernie was the conductor of Eagley Mills band when I joined them in the early 70s. He was an inspiration to me when I started playing and taught me everything I needed to know about being a bandsman.

He will be greatly missed.
  2. Heather

Heather Member

Oh, that's really sad news.
    I too played for Eagley, as did my husband John.
    I've many memories of him also, especially when he came round with the Band carolling at Christmas!! He was hilarious.
    Thanks for some lovely memories Ernie.
    You'll be sadly missed.
  3. Aidan

Aidan Active Member

Was this the Ernie who used to come along to watch Hoover (Bolton) Band rehearsals for years? He had a few fingers missing on one hand.
  4. Frontman

Frontman Member

Ernie Appleyard.

For the past 15 years Ernie and John Denton attended as many rehearsals as possible at the Bolton Hoover Band. Always making comments which due to both of them being a bit deaf was basically very loud, so when they critisised, the person concerned knew exactly who it was they were talking about. Players and Conductors alike, they didn't care. I have seen people almost in tears as a result. (Must admit like me they where proberbly tears of laughter. They where more like the two old gentlemen in the Muppet Show).
    I had the pleasure of attended rehearsals with them on several occasions at Back oth Bank Bowling Club, and enjoyed every minute of their company.

For two life long friends to pass away within two days of each other is very sad and I suffer the loss along with the Bolton Hoover band ,The Eagley Band and the whole of the movement. These were Two gentlemen who could never be replaced.
  5. HorniKaz

HorniKaz Supporting Member