Eikanger top Siddis

Discussion in 'tMP Site News & Suggestions' started by brass journo, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. brass journo

    brass journo Member

    Northowram, West Yorkshire
    Eikanger top Siddis

    It was another fantastic year for Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag as it pipped Norwegian rival Stavanger Brass Band to the Siddis Brass title. The contest has been a tightly fought battle between the two bands for many years and over the last five years, Eikanger has claimed the title every two years.
    The 23rd annual Siddis Brass was held in Stavanger, Norway on Saturday 5 November and attracted 48 bands, using three contest venues across the city.
    In its winning performance, Eikanger presented a flashy show of new arrangements based on film music with all the music being composed and arranged by Eikanger’s own famous names Frode Rydland, Svein Henrik Giske and conductor Reid Gilje.
    The popular entertainment contest once again grew in size this year with more attending bands and an audience of 900 people. The whole event was rounded off with a Gala Concert presented by the host band, Stavanger Brass Band.

    The results were:

    Elite Division

    1. Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag (Reid Gilje) 107
    2. Stavanger Brass Band (Selmer Simonsen) 106
    3. Manger Musikklag (Bjørn Sagstad) 101
    4. Oslo Brass Band (Morten Wensberg) 98

    First Division

    1. Oster Brass (Frode Rydland) 105
    2. Radøy Brass (Svein Henrik Giske) 103
    3. Kleppe Musiklaag (Eirik Gjerdevik)100
    4. Kopervik Musikkorps (Melvin White) 100

    Second Division

    1. Flesland Musikklag (Hogne O. Holmås) 105
    2. Gjesdal Brass Band (Jonas Skartveit Rogne) 103
    3. Tysnes Musikklag (Yngve Nikolaisen) 102
    4. Rong Brass (Stian Svendsen) 101

    Third Division

    1. Skui Brassband (Henrik Dalhaug) 99 (overall winner with higher music marks)
    2. IMI Brass (Per-Erik Petersen 99)
    3. Manger Old Star Brass (Johannes Mangersnes) 98
    4. Hordvik Musikklag (Knut Emil Mjøs) 95

    Soloist Prizes
    Elite Division: Stian Eilertson (Trumpet, Oslo Brass Band)
    First Division: Jan Kåre Nilsen (Trombone, Vennesla Kristne Brass)
    Second Division: Camilla Sjøvoll (Cornet, Tysnes Musikklag)
    Third Division: Anette Marie Lund (Trombone, Langhus Brass)

    The adjudicators were: Frode Amundsen and Goff Richards (Elite Division), Nils Eivind Nikolaisen andTrond Korsgård (First Section), Graham Jones and Torstein Aagard-Nilsen (Second Division), Morten Øvrebekk and Trond Elnes (Third Division).
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice