Educate Me!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Tubafreak, Sep 17, 2005.

1. Tubafreak

Tubafreak New Member

Well, as I've said previously,I'm new to tMP and not too familiar with brass bands in general.My only knowledge has been gained from the tv.Are brass bands like marching bands without those pesky woodwinds?Do you only play marches?I pretty much understand the instrumentation but I'm not too sure about the voicings.Is a soprano a piccolo trumpet?Are the euphonium parts different from baritone parts?Is the flugelhorn the same as our third trumpet?Are the tuba parts written in octaves where the basses play the top notes and the contrabasses play the bottom and pedal tones. I think it's great that brass bands are so prevailant in the UK, I'd kill for the chance to play in one over here.I'd even play the triangle just like my mentor,Private Baldrick.

2. flower girl

flower girl Member

hey, yes we do play marches but we play other stuff too, and we dont have trumpets we have cornets.

3. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

Sort of... But hopefully a little more musically ambitious.

Noo... There's a large original literature for brass band, including works by some very well thought of composers (Elgar for example). Mostly we do just play cheese though...

Soprano Cornet = Cornet in Eb
    Piccolo Trumpet = Trumpet in Piccolo Bb

Yes. I know the terms Euphonium and Baritone are generally interchangeable in wind bands, but in (British-style) brass bands, there is one Euphonium part, played by two players (often divisi), and two Baritone parts, played by one player each. Euphonium is played on a Tenor Tuba, Baritone on a Saxhorn (i.e. with a less conical bore) of the same pitch.

No, it's a Treble Bb instrument of the same bore taper as a Tuba or Euphonium. It has a separate part in the band.