Drum Kit Solos!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by YellowTubs, Mar 28, 2007.

1. YellowTubs

YellowTubs New Member

I've been looking for a while, but not getting much success.

Anyone know of any GOOD drum kit solo pieces for band??

I'm talking good stuff mind, not the Miller Magic/Marching the blues "dit der derrr dit der derrr diddly didly dit der derrr" stuff. ("Ooh lets get that one out, it'll give the drummer something to do", oh thank ee koind sorr, tip my cap, etc)

Not bad when I was 14, but a bit tiresome now.....

2. Rapier

Rapier Supporting Member

Can't help I'm afraid, but I thought I'd say most people in an audience don't like drum solos. Unless they've gone to to see Buddy Rich or the like. Apart from the cheese type pieces you've mentioned. ( I was a drummer, once upon a time, in a galaxy far, far away). ;)
  3. Hornblower RN

Hornblower RN Member

4. Gorgie boy

Gorgie boy Member

Ol' Man River arranged by Mark Freeh can accommodate a drum solo.

For Salvation Army cheesetastic music there is Daniel (Barrie Gott)
  5. jamieow

jamieow Member

Strike up the band - you could kind of edit it to incorporate a full couple of minutes solo - did a version of it a good few years ago at NFMY at Birmingham Symphony Hall - If I remember correctly we kind of cut somewhere in the middle into a kit solo for a couple of minutes then back into the piece - solo was 'in time' so as not to muck up the re entry of the band.
  6. Will the Sec

Will the Sec Active Member

It has been known to insert a Drum Solo in a convenient spot in Chorale and Rock Out, Born Free and James Bond Collection.

Not that I could condine such a flagrant breach of copyright...

Then of course, there's "Drummer's Delight" :eek:
  7. Drum Kit Solo's