dodgy valves!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by horn-girlie, Jun 27, 2006.

1. horn-girlie

horn-girlie Member

hey all! i've been teaching a little girl cornet for a few months now, but she seems to be having problems with her 1st valve. Its a JP cornet (never played one myself, but its a basic beginners one) which she was given by her youth band, and the 1st valve sticks regularly. Its not just slow to come back up, she has to stop playing and lift the valve back up. It is not the way she holds the cornet, as she presses the vavles straight down, and we have tried washing the cornet, and obviously using valve oil, but its not helping.

Other than this, the cornet seems fine, she's making a nice sound, and has got a good range, so this is holding her back a bit. any ideas anyone? is it just a bad cornet design or can i do something about it for her?!

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    girl cornet
    valves
    problems
    valve
    cornet
  3. GingerMaestro

GingerMaestro Active Member

Have you tried removing the valve and the end cap and check for any manufacturing burs of metal or solder have a look at the valve piston are there any shiney patches if so there could be something rubbing on it or the valve needs relapping into the valve case

Also try cleaning the oil off the valve and the valve case and runn it dry I have know some instruments to work better with no oil as silly as it may sound

4. SuperMosh

SuperMosh New Member

Wet and Dry

Had similar trouble myself with my bass valves. I used 'wet and dry', a very, very, very fine metal sanding paper to rub mine down, then cleaned it through, oiled it in Blue Juice (other valve oils are available) and there you go.

Would suggest extreme caution with rubbing your valves with any abrasive paper though - could be costly to repair

5. Rapier

Rapier Supporting Member

Toothpaste is quite a useful 'lapping in' product. ;)

6. Bungle

Bungle Member