Do I buy a cornet or trumpet? Help needed!!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by nicolaforsberg, Jan 22, 2005.

1. Hi, I'm new to tMP and need some help. I'm a cornetist, doing A-level music and about grade 7/8 although I've never done grades. I've decided its about time I got my own instrument instead of loaning my current one off my band (a Weril - very cheap, fairly crap). The thing is that although brass banding is where my heart is would a trumpet be more useful because then i could play in orchestras and jazz bands etc. What I'm worrying about is, when I go to Uni I definately want to keep playing but its more likely theres gona be an orchestra than a brass band. Oooh its so damned confusing. Any comments welcome. Im thinking of going to Uni at either Glasgow or Royal Holloway. Does anyone know of any bands there? Also, if I got a cornet, which type do you think would be best. I'm not a fan of any Yamahas, i was thinking maybe a Sovereign.
  2. Craigsav83

Craigsav83 Active Member

Personally, I'd recommend buying a trumpet. Brass bands will almost always give you a cornet for use, normally a pretty good one. I bought a trumpet in preference to a cornet several years ago, just as well really as I'm now playing soprano!

Trumpets are slightly more versatile, i.e. orchestral work, wind/military bands and suchlike.

Regarding Glasgow, there are many brass bands in or within a 10 mile radius of Glasgow city centre, ranging from championship right through to 3rd/4th section. I can dig out a list if you like.

Sorry, I can't really advise on any models, I bought a Yamaha trumpet, no probs with it, a bit thin on sound though, I now play with a (borrowed) Bach Strad. You are maybe better to set a budget and find out some more info from a dealer.
  3. brassneck

brassneck Active Member