Disappointed teacher!!:( - re children in need!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by SammyT, Oct 27, 2003.

1. SammyT

SammyT Member

Just read the post on the bbc children in need thing.
    I was really looking forward to doing this but as a teacher I will not be able to get the time off work so cannot get there for 12.
    To other teachers on this forum (and others!) has this happened to you before - unable to do something due to not being able to take time off!!
    It has caused problems several times for me. E.g. this years nationals, the rest of the band left early friday morning and obviously we could not leave till 4.
    Thank god for cheap airline tickets (and edinburgh airport being fairly close to dundee - well kirkcaldy where we were staying!!!!) otherwise we would have had problems or not arrived until early hours of saturday morning.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    need
    children
    thing
    teacher
    something
  3. Di B

Di B Member

It isn't just teachers - a lot of jobs have times when you can't get away. In accounts for example from Wednesday for a week and a half I cannot have time off as it is our busiest time in the month. Fortunatly for me, the 21st falls on a 'quieter' week hence I can make it.

I think it is one of the prices you pay for being in any sort of responsible position at work - and you get way too many holidays as a teacher compared to me anyway! :wink:

4. lynchie

lynchie Active Member

well being an underappreciated student worker type, I only get 16 days holiday a year including the christmas shutdown. Luckily Friday is only a 1/2 day as far as holidays go, but I still have to think about it!

5. Pythagoras

Pythagoras Active Member

Couldn't play at the Whit Friday's this year as couldn't get from Doncaster in time after school. Still, not complaining, presently on one of my 13 weeks holiday a year, which meant I could stay till Monday at Pontins.