Diploma?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by grandfilth, Feb 2, 2004.

1. grandfilth

grandfilth Member

I'm currently studying engineering at UMIST. I play the t horn, and am abit worried about the t horn players I know from NYBB who are at the Northern, becoming even more awesome than they already are!I feel like i'm at a disadvantage, does anyone think that doing a diploma would help me? Has anyone out there done one who can give me some advice?I am getting half an hour a week lessons at the RNCM free from UMIST, but am worried I may be falling behind....

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    t horn
    lessons
    Northern
    anyone
    engineering
  3. Rambo Chick

Rambo Chick Member

erm...aren't you the guy who is one of the brass finalists for Young Musician of the Year? if so id probably say you are pretty good and don't need to worry!!!!

4. Mike Saville

Mike Saville Member

It's how you play rather than the bits of paper you have that count. Several top pros don't have any certificates/diplomas. Rather than take the diploma you could better spend your money by having a couple of lessons from a top players.

. . . . of course if you want to teach in the future then that bit of paper with 'Diploma' on it is a very useful thing indeed . . . .

5. markhall

markhall New Member

I recently took my diploma (aged 32) because it forced me to practice and it also forced me to learn some new solos that were not standard Air Varies. After about 12 years of not practicing, I am suddenly a far more secure player in the extremities of the range and extremities of dynamics. I also took a few lessons in the build up which helped me in knowing what aspects of my playing I had neglected. Would definitely recommend it - get my results next week!

6. Aidan

Aidan Active Member

:D don't forget your nybb pals from salford too *ahem* ;)