Desperately seeking guidance - Embrouchure

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Seamus_the_dog, Sep 8, 2008.

1. Seamus_the_dog

Seamus_the_dog New Member

I am a musician with multiple abilities, but my principle instrument has always been the cornet. I have been playing some 28 yrs and without wanting to blow my own trumpet (pun intended) I was pretty damn good.

I had an eleven year break from brass bands in which time I became an accomplished trumpeter in the rock and pop world. I then had a break of 5 years from everything, before deciding to go back where it all began and rejoining the band that got me started. This was fine for a few months and with practice, I soon found myself getting back where I had left off . Then something happened that has changed everything.

It started when I lost a tooth last year and was diagnosed with periodontal disease (basically means my teeth are falling out). It was right where my mouthpiece sits and playing became very uncomfortable and difficult to control. I had dental work done and the tooth was replaced but it left me with a sharp edge that digs into my lip while I play, causing pain and very limitied stamina. I have since discovered lip cushions which seem to ease this problem considerably, however they were not the miracle cure I was hoping for.

My tone has become strained and breathy, I struggle to hit any notes above top G (particularly annoying as I am renowned locally for soaring around the upper registers with ease). I can no longer play quietly, lower notes either dont happen at all or sound nasty and tuneless, and mid range notes do not come out straight away, theres an annoying 'pwhr' preceeding each note. Forget the high register! When playing mf or above its generally ok, but fast passages lack detail, my tounge moves fine but doesnt seem to produce the sound.