Demanded money back/complained?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by midnight_euph, Nov 28, 2006.

1. midnight_euph

midnight_euph Member

I wonder if any band/musician has been so disgusted with the standard of music transcription (i.e. the amount of errata on a piece) that they have either sent the music back to the publisher and/or demanded their money back?

We pay a small fortune for music... is it too much to ask that we don't have to sit correcting error upon error/inserting missing bars? What happened to 'proof-reading'?

If a literary publisher released books with as many mistakes as seem to happen on some music, they'd have to refund the purchaser AND/or provide a corrected copy. (Been there, done that as a literary publisher ... and in a 'previous life' I used to copy up music for LESPB and other bands, and Howard Snell's scores and parts for Desford, so I have some experience of the problems of the transcriber/copyist.)

2. WoodenFlugel

WoodenFlugel Moderator Staff Member

I can think of one instance only, when a previous conductor sent off for a test-piece from a major publisher. For our 40-odd quid we got a set of truely awful photocopies stamped "official photocopy - do not reproduce" (as if we could if we'd wanted to - the quality really was that bad!). I cannot stress enough how bad the quality was - it was like a 10th generation copy from an ancient photocopier - grainy, faint and not even printed sqquare on the page. Somewhat annoyed he asked what I thought, and I flippently said to send it back with an angry letter, asking for a refund. To our amazement this is what we got!

I've never heard of publishers issuing any refunds for errors to parts, although recently with Images the publishers were obliged to re-print the score due to the errors in it.