Cornet Mouthpieces

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by mozart, Feb 16, 2010.

1. mozart

mozart Member

I realise its a "longshot" but does anyone know if the Yamaha 14E mouthpiece has the same internal dimensions as the Lewington McCann(ie cup depth.rim width etc) Both mouthpieces look identical on the exterior.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    14E
    Cornet Mouthpieces
    Yamaha
    Lewington McCann
    width
  3. b-flatcharlie

b-flatcharlie Member

From your question I’m not sure what kind of knowledge you have of mouthpieces but I suspect you are looking for something very specific for one type of playing. Do you play back-row, repiano or solo cornet in a brass band?

This might not be what you want to hear though and I apologize if the information below is zero use to yourself personally and you can choose to ignore it if you prefer.:confused:

The Lewington McCann model that you specify I have no knowledge of. In some ways it depends on what ultimately you personally want from any mouthpiece.

If you like an orchestral trumpet style tone in your playing, the Vincent Bach long shank cornet mouthpiece range is a good choice.

What style of tone do you prefer?

For example the 1st Bb soloist in a brass band will commonly chose a mouthpiece they prefer for their own tone along with their instrument I suspect. A tutti Bb player might choose an appropriate mouthpiece to increase their sound volume and range. Repiano Cornet player may choose similar as an accompanying instrument.

From your question I’m unaware about what cornet position you play or band section and this would be useful. I stick with one mouthpiece for every cornet playing position apart from Eb Soprano because at present I play both as the main soloist in one band and a solo tutti (bumper up) in another.