Cornet Mouthpiece Advice needed

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Leyfy, May 14, 2007.

1. Leyfy

Leyfy Active Member

I've been playing cornet for about 7 years and never really been happy with my mouthpiece. I can make (what I assume!) is a nice sound but I'm having a bit of a complex with top notes, and having a stamina problem.

Currently I play on a Denis Wick 4b heavytop mouthpiece, but I've also tried a Schilke mouthpiece (which made me sound like a trumpet - and I've now lost and can't remember the number of, but I didn't like AT ALL). I also spent the past year, until recently, playing on the mouthpiece that came with my Yamaha Xeno cornet, but I found that too deep and too wide.

Does anyone know any mouthpieces that are similar in diameter to the Denis Wick 4b but slightly shallower, or would this cause me to sound nasty!!!

I know its not just a mouthpiece problem - its also practice, but I'm doing on avarage 6 hours banding a week and at least a couple of hours of personal practice 'cause I'm supposed to be doing an exam next term!

Help/advice would be appreciated :)
  2. davidquinlan

davidquinlan Member

It is unlikely that the choice of mouthpiece is the sole cause of your described problem.
    Mouthpiece choice depends on a lot of factors, all of which cannot be diagnosed over an internet forum.
    I would suggest a lesson with a respected teacher. They should be able to diagnose your problem, be that mouthpiece choice or otherwise (usually, breathing)
  3. Leyfy

Leyfy Active Member

yes, i have regular lessons - and that i'm not taking deep enough breaths is one of the problems....

My teacher tells me my mouthpiece is too deep and before I buy a new one I wondered if anyone had any advice?
  4. davidquinlan

davidquinlan Member

Breathing is the key.. get yourself a copy of Claude Gordons Brass Playing is no harder than deep breathing.