Cornet Intonation

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Lozzer, Mar 28, 2016.

1. Lozzer

Lozzer New Member

May I trouble you to ask for advice. I started playing seriously again after a long break a couple of months ago.

I am currently finding intonation hard work. With the tuning slide all the way in G on the stave is very flat and needs max lip up (so much that lose quality of tone) but C on the stave needs a quite a lot of lipping down. I can hear this in band and have checked it on a tuner.

No doubt I am causing some of this but I wonder if my equipment is not helping.

I am currently playing on my old JK4 O&H (has a deep v cup, they since changed the numbering system.). The JK has a much better tone (clearer and richer) evan compared to DW(without a b) or Yamaha E cup, I think this largely because the throat is wider. I have played on bach dw and yamaha mp's years ago, recently I have tried a DW (a 4b simply because there was one to hand) but it didn't help with he intonation.

The Cornet I currently have is a borrowed from band 928 GS Besson Sov to me it doesn't have the same tone as my old B&H round stamp Sov and the round stamp wasn't as bad for intonation although neither were as good for intonation as the Meastro I played for a while (although the tone of the Meastro was too bright for me.)

Sadly behind this equipment is a rather poor cornetist. Home practice consists of long notes, scales & arpeggios, exercises (arban and the advanced lip flexibility book) followed by pieces if I have time and any lip left.

Thank you for reading. Any suggestions would be appreciated

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    928 GS Besson Sov
    G
    JK
    DW
    Yamaha
  3. BrianT

BrianT Member

It does sound a bit odd that two open notes would be out of tune with each other as much as you say. Why not ask someone else in your band to help?
    • get them to try your cornet with their mouthpiece,